Vinod K. Singh

Organic Chemistry

  • Designation : Director, IISER Bhopal Professor
  • Phone : +91 755 269 2316, 669 2316
  • Email :
  • Fax : +91 755 669 2392

Group Homepage

Academic Details

Professor Vinod Kumar Singh was born on 9th September 1959 in Anantpur a small village in the Azamgarh district of Uttar Pradesh. He did his early schooling in Anantpur, and passed high school and intermediate from Wesley Inter College and B.Sc. from D. A. V. College, both in Azamgarh. After completing M.Sc. (Chemistry) from B.H.U in 1980 Professor Singh joined Malti-Chem Research Center in Nandesari Baroda to do Ph.D. under the guidance of Dr. Sukh Dev. He was subsequently awarded a degree from M.S. University Baroda in 1986. Professor Singh spent two years (1985-1987) in Canada, working as a post-doctoral fellow at University of Calgary and University of British Columbia. He later moved to Harvard University to work with a Nobel Laureate, Professor E. J. Corey, from April 1987 till March 1990. After a brief stint as a senior scientist at Neurogen Corporation USA Professor Singh joined IIT Kanpur as an Assistant Professor in Chemistry on December 26 1990. He was promoted to an Associate Professor in May 1997 and to a full Professor in September 2001.

Professor Singhs research work falls in the area of synthetic organic chemistry, more specifically, asymmetric synthesis. He has developed several new chiral ligands/catalysts for enantioselective reactions. He has accomplished total synthesis of several bioactive natural products.

Professor Singhs work has been recognized in the form of several awards and honors such as J.C. Bose Fellowship (2009), Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar prize (2004), and Swarnajayanti Fellowship Award (1998) among others. In addition, he has been elected as a Fellow of all the science academies of the country. He is currently on deputation as Founder Director of IISER Bhopal. He was also discharged with responsibilities as Founder Director of SPA Bhopal (additional charge) and Chairman of BoG NITTTR Bhopal. He is a Member of the Scientific Advisory Council to the Prime Minister (SAC to PM).

Profile Details

    • Subhrajit Rout
    • Rajshekhar Unhale
    • Nirmal K. Rana
    • Sumit K. Ray
    • Anirban Kayet
    • Pipas Saha
    • Nitul R. Guha
Authors Title of Article Journal Year